Top 5 Wednesday: Books you were intimidated by

Happy Wednesday everyone, and here is another Top 5 Wednesday, and for this week it is books you were intimidated by. This was a hard topic because I am rarely intimidated, and I usually give a book its fair read.

Top 5 Wednesday is a group in Goodreads and was formerly created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is now done by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. It is open to everyone.

A Song of Ice and Fire: by George RR Martin

I was first introduced to this series through the HBO series Game of Thrones, and seeing how season one ended  I really wanted to know what happens next so I read the second book A Clash of Kings, and it was a little confusing, than I was told to read the first in order to fully understand the world. Of course I ended up loving the series and is waiting patiently for the next book and now is resorting to waiting for the season premiere.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

After reading the first three books those books were of pretty short compared to this one. When I first got this book I was surprised how big it was. Then I read the book, and it took me only a few days.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

This takes me back to AP English, and boy this was tough read. It wasn’t a bad book by any means. Of course this being AP English spark notes was out of the question, it was actually one of the few books I read ahead of the class.

The Lord of The Rings trilogy by JR Tolkien

This was one my first forays into the high fantasy genre, also the movie was about to come out. But I pulled through and read the series. It was great and I don’t regret this at all.

Les Miserable by Victor Hugo

Another tale from my AP English days, and boy was this tough. I mean, looking at the book was intimidating. It was at the time one of the  largest books I ever read, and it started off really slow, but the book did get better. I also think my love for the musical kinda helped me get through the book.

That is my top 5 list, share your top 5 list below.

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books you were intimidated by

  1. I agree with all of yours! Most I have tried (GoT and LOTR) but did not manage to complete. However, Goblet of Fire was my very favorite Harry Potter book until the final book came out, GOF I think takes the Harry Potter books to a whole new level – you will absolutely love it! The one that drags for me is Order of the Phoenix =/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookprophet says:

    At first I was intimidated by the A Song of Ice and Fire series (aka game of thrones) and wasn’t even thinking of ever reading it, then I found the first one for 50 cents at a thrift store and decided to buy it. I have read the first two books so far and love it! Goblet of Fire is a good pick! I didn’t even think of that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, great effort on actually reading the books you found intimidating! I’m glad you enjoyed them too 😀 I went through a Les Mis phase and wanted to read the book, but then I saw the size and I freaked out 😂 I don’t think I could ever get through War and Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment