Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag

Wow, it is the middle of 2017, and it is very exciting. I see a lot of the other bloggers/Booktubers doing this so I decided to do it. I wasn’t tagged by anyone.

Best Book you read so far?

A book about a world in which death has been conquered, and Scythe’s are responsible for keeping the population in control. Here is my review.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

A book inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, in which Starr sees a friend killed by the police and the aftermath of the shooting. Here is my review.

Best Sequel You’ve Read

This is a two for one deal because both of these sequels are amazing and it proves why she is one of my new favorite authors. Both books ups the stakes of the previous books, and Our Dark Duet was an emotional roller coaster.

New Releases You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want to

I have heard good things about both of these books, and I really want to read them very soon.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

If you are familiar with my blog, you should know that both Marie Lu and Marissa Meyer, are two of my auto-buy authors. Both of them are making new series so of course I am excited to read both of these books.

Biggest Disappointment

While I did enjoy the book, it just wasn’t at the potential that I thought it was. I also felt that the book was a little to short and I kinda wanted more from the story.

Biggest Surprise

This was a sort of random pick up, and I enjoyed it very much. It had me at Sailor Moon meets Pacific Rim and it was great. Here is my review.

Favorite new author

Earlier this year, I read More Happy Than Not and was completely blown away by it, and then I read History is All You Left Me which was also equally good. Now he is one my favorite YA contemporary authors.

Book that made you cry

Enough said.

Book that made you happy

This was a cute little high school story about a boy coming out and trying to find love. Really good read and I cannot wait for the movie to come out.

That is my Mid-Year Freak out Tag. If you are reading this consider yourself tagged. Also what are your favorite books you have read so far? Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

Empress of A Thousand Skies by: Rhonda Belleza

Summary:

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

The Review:

This book was on my Top 5 Wednesday: Debuts I am Excited For, mainly because I am a fan of sci fi epics, and judging by the blurb it looked like that what I was in for.

The story takes place on several different points of the galaxy, and is told through two perspectives Rhee, the heir to the empire and Alyosha or Aly, a refugee and star of a very popular TV show or Drone vision. I am of course a fan of books with duo perspectives because it gives a us a closer look at the world the book takes in from different sides. As the story starts off both characters are basically fugitives on the run, and it really dives right into the plot. It starts when Rhee almost getting killed, and realizing that she has been betrayed. Aly, is the one who is blamed for it, mainly because of he is a Wraetan, and was also set by someone he trusted.

Throughout the book, both of them are trying to figure out what’s happening and why. With Rhee, she suspects that it has something to do with a Treaty that was suppose to be ratified in order to keep peace among the galaxy. It was also because of the peace deal, that her family ended up being killed. Aly is trying to clear his name, and figure out why the assassination took place.

I like both characters of the book. Both of them have good arcs to their story and you could see them changing throughout the book, also they also don’t actually cross paths in this book, which is a strange choice by the author, but I think they will in future.

One of my main problems with the book, is how the world building was handled. With world building I want to feel as if I am in space, and I feel that a lot of the back story was kinda glossed over, and in a SFF book world building should have been better. I also felt a lot of the plot was very rushed , and the action didn’t take its time to breathe or slow down. I also felt that the supporting characters were also very thinly developed, and just sort of came and went with the plot. I think some may have a bigger role in the next book.

Don’t get me wrong, I did like the book but when compared to other books such as Red Rising, and Starflight, it just kinda feel flat.

In the end, Empress of a Thousand Skies, was good but a bit disappointing. It had good main characters but the story was very rushed and lacked a lot of the world building I like from other SFF books.

Grade: 3/5