All the Series EVER (Read, Reading, To Read) Tag

Happy Sunday everyone,

It has been a long time since I did a tag post and I saw this on Donna at  Cholatenwaffles, and thought I should give it a go. This tag was created by Fadwa at Word Wonders.

I like that this tag will tackle book series that I have finished or will be finishing and also go over my favorites.

Series that I have finished.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Overall rating: 5/5

One of my favorites. Love this series so much. A great mix of fairy tale retelling with science fiction.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Overall rating: 4/5

One of my favorite trilogies, with Katniss being one of my favorite characters. I love the world it is set in, and is one of my favorite dystopians.

Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu

Overall rating: 4/5

Another great dystopian series. Love both characters of Day and June. While I felt the ending was off it was still an amazing series.

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth

Overall rating: 3/5

While I really loved the first book, and second book was pretty good as well, it was the third book that fell off, and I am not talking about the ending. It was a series I felt that was getting weaker.

The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner

Overall rating: 3.5/5

I actually really liked this series. I know it has its problems, but I loved the characters and how they interacted with one another.

The Darkest Minds trilogy by: Alexandra Bracken

Overall rating: 3/5

I thought this series was good but overrated. I liked the concept of kids with powers but I didn’t really feel that the powers connected with the story and I also felt that the powers were not clearly defined.

Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

Overall rating: 5/5

I know, I know. But I love this series so much. What more than I can say.

Series I am currently reading:

The Young Elites trilogy by: Marie Lu

I loved her Legend trilogy and so far this series is amazing. Can’t wait for the last series to see how it ends.

Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown

I recently finished the first book and loved it, and kicking myself into wondering how I didn’t read this series earlier.

An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir:

I loved both of these books. This is one of my new favorite series. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Throne of Glass/ A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas.

After seeing most of my blogger friends reading both of these series, I decided to start reading them, and I like them both. I am on Queen of Shadows right now and I really like this series so far.

Six of Crows duo-logy by: Leigh Bardugo

I wasn’t a fan of her Grisha trilogy, but Six of Crows blew me away and I loved it. Can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom.

Books to be read:

Labyrinth Lost by: Zoraida Cordova

The premise looks amazing and I like to see more diverse authors coming into YA

And I Darken by Kiersten White

I am usually not a cover person, but the cover looks great, and I have heard some good things about the book so far.

There is my tag list. Is there any other books or series I should read? Let me know in the comments below.

I also Tag:

Alex at Young at Heart

Megan at Book Slayer Reads

Aria at What Aria Loves

Jillian at Rant and Rave Books

And also YOU. If you are reading this consider yourself tagged.

Have a good one.

Advertisements

A Court of Thorns and Roses By: Sarah J. Maas

Summary (Via: Goodreads):

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down


My thoughts:


I was very excited when this book was announced because I am a huge fan of her Throne of Glass series, and I wanted to see what more she can do, and she didn’t disappoint. While still in the high fantasy genre she took us into the world of  the Fae and used it to retell Beauty and the Beast. Feyre, serves as a Belle stand in, and I like Feyre, almost as much as I like Caelena from Throne of Glass. She’s smart, and doesn’t really put up with Tamlin’s crap. Sarah J Mass also does a good job with world building as it is extremely hard to do so especially in the fantasty genre. Another main character is Tamlin, who is the Beast, and when he if first introduced it is almost like when the Beast first showed up in Beauty and The Beast. 


The first half is very devoted to the character development of both Feyre and Tamlin, and them getting to know each other and also fall in love. Mass does a very good job with the believably of them being in love rather then the insta-love which is found in many YA novels. The second half is more action packed with Feyre being forced to go through trials in order to save Tamlin, from the evil Armantha, who is a pretty decent villain, just the down side is that she was killed by the end of the book, and would of mainly wanted her to be the series main villain. 


Also there is a maybe love triangle between Feyre, Tamlin and Rhysand. As a hetero male I would go for Tamlin, mainly because she went through everything for him. Rhysand, I would describe as Eric, from True Blood, Damon from Vampire Diaries with little bit of Loki, and while that may turn girls on, I think Feyre and Tamlin are end game. 


This book was a very good start to what could be great series, which did a fantastic job mixing the romance elements with the fantasy elements


Score: 4.7/5