Wonder Women Review

This was one of my most anticipated movies of the summer, and this is also one of first female led super hero movies in a while (the last one I think was Elektra), and this movie did not disappoint, in fact I think it is one of my favorite comic book movies.

This is also another movie in the DC Extended Universe, and this one focuses on the origin story of Wonder Women, who was first introduced in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. The story takes place during World War I, and Steve Trevor (Chris Pine) crash lands of Diana’s island of Themyscira. After finding out about World War I, Diana assumes that the atrocities were brought on by Ares, the God of War. Diana then goes with Steve to London to find Ares and hopefully stop the war.

After a rough start to the DCEU, this is the first film I enjoyed from start to finish, it delivered some great action set pieces. The first one was where the Germans invade Themyscira, it delivered a great action scene, and what made it great was that it involved a bunch of women kicking so much ass. My favorite is when Diana comes out of the trenches and is just holding the line, and my whole theater was clapping and cheering throughout that scene.

 

While I did have reservations about her initial casting, Gal Gadot was great as Wonder Women, and she really understood how the character is both strong, but also has emotions, which is the core of Wonder Women. Chris Pine was also good as Steve Trevor, and both Diana’s and Steve’s relationship was really well done and developed. When Diana first came to London, it provided a lot of humor which featured Diana trying to figure out the world around her.

I also did like the supporting such as Etta Candy (Lucy Davis), Steve’s secretary. She did provide some good comedic scenes, and I kinda wish she was in it more. I also liked Steve’s war buddies, which I reminded me a lot of the Howling Commando’s from Captain America. But I felt the villains were a bit underdeveloped, and I think that’s a problem with a lot of the recent superhero movies.

The direction was also very good. Patty Jenkins directed this movie, and this is one of the first superhero movies to have a female director, and she brought up the essence of Wonder Women, while some the action scenes had some slow mo, it didn’t feel like it was too much. I am so glad that she is signed up for Wonder Women 2, and I hope she could possibly direct Justice League 2.

What surprises me, was that it took this long to make a Wonder Women movie. While there has been female led super hero movies before, most of them were terrible, and the studios would see it as a risk. Hopefully thanks to the positive reception of this movie, we could see more female superhero movies, like, Captain Marvel, or a better Catwoman.

Wonder Women, was a fantastic movie that had me smiling the whole way through. It was not just a great female-led Superhero movie, but a great comic book movie.

Grade: A

3 thoughts on “Wonder Women Review

  1. Great review! I saw this movie last night and was blown away at how awesome it was and how much I loved it. People were cheering and clapping throughout the whole movie, and that “no mans land” scene was phenomenal ! I loved how the movie showed her emotions and her drive to help people. What a great movie!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

