Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get you out of a reading slump

Happy Wednesday everyone, and here is another Top 5 Wednesday and the topic is:
February 22nd: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump
–Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump!

Top 5 Wednesday is a group in Goodreads and was formerly created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is now done by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. It is open to everyone.

Another great topic, mainly because I have reading slumps and it took a really great book in order for me to get back on track.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I read this book during one of my reading slumps in which before that, the previous books I read I either DNF or was just plan bored by them. An Ember in the Ashes got me back on track. I was action packed, had well developed characters and left you wanting more.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Another great read, especially if you haven’t read anything in a while. While it may seem like a beach read. It is a very dark and disturbing book that you wouldn’t want to put down.

Legend by: Marie Lu

Another great and action packed book with a lot of twists and turns, especially if you haven’t read something in a while or was just burned by the previous books you read.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

If you are looking for something unconventional to read, I would recommend Illuminae because of how different it is from everything else that I have read and it seems refreshing to read a book like that.

The Shadow Queen by: C.J. Redwine

As a fan of fairy tale retellings, of course this you get me out of a slump. I read it just last summer and really loved the book and it got me back on track with reading. Also the cover looks amazing.

Those are the books that I would recommend to get me out of a reading slump. What books are great to get you out of a slump? Let me know in the comments below.

 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get you out of a reading slump

  1. I flew through the entire Legend series in a matter of days; I agree it’s a great one! I just bought The Shadow Queen a few weeks ago because I love retellings as well, but I haven’t read one since finishing Heartless last month. That book wrecked me so I’ve been reading some more fluffy books for the past few weeks to let my heart heal.

    Like

  2. I have An Ember in the Ashes on my TBR, I’m not sure that I am going to read it. I’ve seen that it is very violent and there are a lot of mentions of rape, and that both are very descriptive.

    Like

  3. An Ember in the Ashes is a great recommendation. I have started on Illuminae but it is definitely different as you mentioned.. do you read over the computer programs notes too? some of them is interesting like the psyche review of Kady and that guy, but others are boring instructions/procedures/protocols or whatever.. haha..

    Like

Leave a Reply

