Passenger by: Alexandra Bracken

Summary:

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.

The Review:

Passengers was a book I picked up on a whim, (it was $.99 for the e-book), and also since Wayfarer was coming out and I wanted to know what the hype was about.

What intrigued me about the book was the concept of time travel mainly as a fan of Doctor Who, and going through different periods of time.

Let’s discuss the characters. I like Etta, I like that while she was basically being transported to a different time period, she was asking questions without being too whiny, and she was able to hold her own against any dangers. I also liked Nicks story, and how he also shares a name of a certain Backstreet Boy (haha). Even though it felt a bit cliched. Him being the son of a slave who was raped by her master. I also liked he was the captain of a pirate ship, and seeing him run his own crew.

As a story about time travel, I liked some of the time periods like colonial times, early Damascus and the beginning stages of World War II. I would have liked to see more time periods, but I hope the sequel will do that.

I thought the plot was pretty good, even though it was basically a macguffin chase, in which the Ironwoods want the the device but I never really got a reason as to why they wanted it so badly, maybe I missed something in the book. But I did like the concept of a secret society trying to take over, I would have liked to see more development of the villains.

I also felt that the relationship between Etta and Nicolas was very rushed and it didn’t have any build up and it just happened rather randomly, with not much build up and I felt that they got together mainly because that it is YA and they are suppose to be in love.

Another problem I had was the pacing. There was times when I felt that there was time that the story focused way too much on Etta and Nicolas’s love story rather than the plot of the story. While some may like the cliffhanger ending, I felt that it should have been better written.

In the end, I felt Passengers was a good book but it was a bit over hyped. I wish there was more focus on the concept of time travel and how it fits into the world. I did enjoy the book and will be reading the rest of the series.

3.3/5

17 thoughts on “Passenger by: Alexandra Bracken

  1. The Ironwoods want the astrolabe because that then means that they can control time and and the way things happen in life, like they could make the nazis win WW2 etc. In Wayfarer we get to see possibly some of the outcomes of that. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok I totally didn’t realise that Nicholas shared his name with a Backstreet Boy! I was wondering why it sounded familiar lol. I really liked Etta, a lot of girls in YA books get cranky over things and tend to not think logically. But I found Etta quite level headed which I really like. I hope you like Wayfarer more, it really does clear up your questions from the first book.

    Oh and if I can make any suggestion, try and read Wayfarer as soon as possible. I left a big gap between reading and I forgot things…which then made the beginning of Wayfarer a bit hard to get into because I was trying to remember everything.

    Like

  3. That was what I felt… There was a lot of buzz about this book but somethign didn’t sit well on me, so I decided to pass… so many mixed reviews and there wasn’t really anyting that completely grabbed my eye, so I decided to pass.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

