Top 5 Wednesday: Debuts you are excited for

Happy Wednesday everyone, and here is another Top 5 Wednesday and the topic is

January 11th: 2017 Debuts You Are Excited For
–There is already a ton of hype for well established authors, but here is an opportunity to discuss some debut (new) authors and showcase their books. There are plenty of debut author challenges and lists you can find if you are having trouble with this one šŸ™‚

Another exciting topic, while this year a lot of my favorite authors are releasing new books this year, it is always exciting to see a new author write an amazing book, and than become your favorite new author.

Top 5 Wednesday is a group inĀ GoodreadsĀ and was formerly created by Lainey atĀ gingerreadslaineyĀ and is now done by Sam fromĀ Thoughts on Tomes. It is open to everyone.

The Hate you Give by: Angie Thomas

Inspired by the BLM movement, this book is very topical given today’s climate. I don’t read a lot of contemporary books, but given the subject I am very excited to read this book and hopefully more from this author.

Caraval by: StephanieĀ Garber

This premise really intrigues me mainly because it reminds me a lot of The Night Circus and anything dealing with magic is always on my radar.

Empress of a ThousandĀ Skies by Rhonda Belleza

The premise reminds me a lot of Anastasia, and while a lot of readers may not like the “lost princess” trope this one actually looks very interesting. Also the cover looks awesome.

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Another contemporary and diverse read, but it is also near and dear to my heart because it deals with a Haitian protagonist and it also deals with immigration.

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

I will read anything dealing with pirates and judging by the premise it looks like something that could be amazing. YA has never really dealt with anything pirate related and I want to see what they Ā come up with.

That is my top 5 debuts I am excited for. What debuts are you excited for? Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Debuts you are excited for

Leave a Reply

