Twilight: Good or Bad-Discussion Post

Hello everyone,

As I said, one of my 2017 goals for the blog is to have more discussion posts. It will most likely every other week depending on my schedule.

For my first discussion post I want to discuss something that I feel divided a lot of the YA bookish community is Twilight.

Twilight, the book series by Stephanie Meyer is always the subject of controversy when it comes to YA books. Some people love it and think it is the best thing ever, and arguing over Team Edward or Team Jacob. Some people think it is the worst thing ever, set the women movement back several years and should be burned in the fire pits of Mordor.

So now I will be giving my thoughts of the Twilight series. I think it is just okay. Its not terrible but it is not that great either. This post will most likely discuss why the Twilight series is so divisive.

My history of the Twilight series, started when my sister was reading the series. I always wanted to know about that giant book she was reading was all about, so I decided to read the first book and thought it was okay, it seemed like a very different take on vampire lore, but since vampires have been around for a long time it was nice to see some changes to it.

It got a new generation of young people into reading: This is very important . During my time of the Twilight seines, after the series was over I looked in the YA section and saw another series which happened to be The Hunger Games, and the rest is history. For a lot of other readers Twilight marked the beginning of their reading journey and how they love YA today. For most its a nostalgic trip to their beginnings.

The soundtrack: Say what you will about the movies, but the soundtrack is amazing I love all the songs from “Eyes on Fire” “Flightless Bird” “Turning page” and many more. I really does a good job at incorporating the music with the movie. It’s also on rotation on my Spotify.

VAMPIRE”S DON’T SPARKLE!!!: Yeah this is a controversial one. One of the main complaints about the Twilight series is the portrayal of vampires and mainly how they sparkle in in sunlight instead of usual melting. I don’t really have a problem with that because in the many years that vampire stories have been around there have always been loopholes to get vampires out in daylight like with the Vampire Diaries/The Originals and the use of daylight rings. But for a lot this was the line crosser. I could see why that would be a problems because it “retcons” the vampire lore. But vampire lore has always been rewritten and many different authors have always made changes to how they see vampires.

The Character of Bella: In an age in which YA is full of bad ass heroines like, Celeana, June, Katniss, Tris, Hermione, and tons of others, Bella is always seen as very weak and mostly a damsel. Bella is a black slate character who doesn’t really have any real personality and most of her story arc deals with her boyfriend Edward and her best friend Jacob. The problem is that it is main story arc. While I don’t have a problem with romance novels, but the problem here is that her characteristics are defined by who she is with rather than who she is as an individual. If anything the character of Jacob gets actual character development especially in Breaking Dawn. I feel Bella got some development in Breaking Dawn as well dealing with trying to protect her daughter. I didn’t feel like she truly grew as a character and didn’t go through any challenges.

Popularity Backlash: I first read Twilight around the time I started college in 2006, before the movie was even announced. Like I said I thought is a okay and I finished the series. Once the first movie came out, it was everywhere. This is the term I like to use is popularity backlash, when something becomes so popular that is has to be hated upon. With each movie being released the more resentment it got from the general public. You were suppose to “hate” Twilight, or it become cool to hate it.

The Ending: The ending to Breaking Dawn, I think was a very anti climatic ending I have ever read. It was just a lot of build up and than nothing really happened. The movie tried to fix it with a pretty descent action sequence but than it was all a vision in Alice’s mind, which made it look worse. That is where a lot of people even the die-hard Twilight fans really hated that ending.

In the end the Twilight series was a huge phenomenon that got a whole generation of teens and young adults into reading. Also to answer the question is it good or bad? I think its a bit of both. I will always remember Twilight as one of the series that me into YA, while yes I know it has problems but its still an enjoyable series.

So what do you think of the Twilight? What do you like or dislike about the series? What other discussion topics would you like me to do? Let me know in the comments below.

27 thoughts on “Twilight: Good or Bad-Discussion Post

  1. Great post Darnell! For me whilst I really do not like the book now I will always look back on the time I read it with fond memories as it was the first time my friends and I collectively bonded over something happening in pop culture at that time and felt excited by it. It also rekindled my love of reading

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I agree with your point that it got so many people reading. It’s almost like 50 Shades of Grey *eye roll* I read that before the hype and didn’t like it. However it got a whole generation of people who were to old for the Twilight era to start reading and then to look to other books after that to get their next book “fix”. I enjoyed Twilight for what it was worth at the time, right now if I read it I would probably roll my eyes the whole time but I think it’s because my tastes have changed. I am glad that it brought new readers onto the reading scene though…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Twilight is a tricky one because the books were quite poorly written and the story isn’t even that good, but I remember being completely addicted to it when I was reading them. Same with the films – the acting wasn’t great and the story was even more annoying on film than in the books, but I love them! I don’t know what it is about them… Maybe it’s just because I read them as a teenage girl so had a particular love for teenage angst and vampires?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think it is the teenager in most of us that love the Twilight series and reading it again, I realized that yes the story is poorly written but I still have memories of enjoying the series and waiting for the next book to come. So I feel a nostalgia every time I think about the series.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good discussion 🙂 I didn’t know about the Twilight books before the movies came out. Might have been because the Swedish titles were rubbish, didn’t sound at all like something with vampires in them. Then I read the books, and I did like the first one. But I think the series could have ended there.

    I agree about the popularity backlash, it isn’t that bad that you have to hate on it. And it is amazing how many people it got into reading! It definitely is worth some love!

    A lot of very popular books have problems. That is why they don’t win the Nobel Prize, but they don’t need to. If a book get even one person into reading or more importantly, gives them a good time, it has done its purpose.

    Looking forward to more of your discussion posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always think that when any property becomes popular there is always backlash. While the series is very problematic, I always like to look back tat the book fondly as it got me into reading again.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Relate to these comments! I read it as a teenager. Many people hadn’t heard of it in the UK when my friend leant it me, and we enjoyed it. It was a fun book to discuss, if anything? I couldn’t stand it now and still can’t put my finger on why it’s so compelling for teenagers, even though I should remember!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s true that this book made some teenagers love books, so did 50 shades with an older audience, but neither of these books was good :/
    I’ve tried reading both and couldn’t finish.
    But Hose by Meyer is a different story. I’ve read a sample a while back and it instantly ended up on my must-read list. Way better than the movie and it feels like it was better written than Twilight.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Haha! Awesome post, Darnell! I have a love hate with this series. I liked the books when I first read them because it was something different and I was reading all John Grisham at the time. The movies were okay but I watched them for Jacob shirtless and Edward. No sense in lying. Lol But the story wasn’t anything unique and the writing was pretty dull. And Bella as a character…barf! I like a strong female lead like Katniss not some sad girl who trips over her feet. I couldn’t relate to her at all. Love this post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love this topic! I was just talking about this with my friend. We both thought the books were badly written, the plot was devised poorly in each book, and the characters were just short of three-dimensional. HOWEVER, we couldn’t deny how much impact the saga had on both the bookish and non-bookish community. Twilight inspired my cousin to begin reading (she is now a hardcore bookworm) and it inspired an entire generation of new readers. We have both Twilight and The hunger Games to thank for that. While Bella may not be the best heroine and the vampires may be lacking in their ferocity, I thought the books were a good thing for the bookish community in the long-run. I may never read those books again, but I won’t be getting rid of them anytime soon. I like the memories they hold, both good and bad (mostly bad, but hey…)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the Twilight series was a great thing for the bookish community because it got teenagers and young adults to actually start reading again, especially after the Harry Potter series ended. With all of the books we have read throughout the years, I kinda of owe it to the Twilight series.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. hey! new reader. I definitely feel that twilight got a lot of young people into reading because that’s definitely what happened to me. Now looking back I would never read them again but if I had to be honest what I loved about twilight the most was the fanfictions. I feel like the fans developed the character a lot more that the author did because if we had to base our love in the plain characters with very little personalities I feel like it would be an insult to other books and characters.

    Like

  10. Twilight are one of the many book series I’ve only read once. And yea I’m only thirteen but I still love the books along with my mom. But I have watch the movies a million times and almost every two seconds I’m either hearing my mom recite the word before or after they are out of the tv and in the air or I’m rolling my eyes because I’m just then realizing how stupid they could act at times and how unreal the story is. Even with me knowing it is completely fiction. I would still though read the books again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

