Hype or Like Friday: Best Reads of 2016

Happy Friday everyone, and also a Happy Holidays to you all,

The Theme for December is Year End reads of 2016 and the Book of the Month is A Thousand Pieces of You

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and the post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

December 23: Best Reads of 2016 – Tell us your top favorite books that you’ve read this year!

This list won’t be in any particular order because ranking my favorite books would be way tp hard for me to do because I read so many good ones.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

The sequel to one of my favorite reads of last, did not disappoint. It was an action packed sequel that upped the stakes. It also gave us so much character development for a few supporting characters of the previous book. I seriously can’t wait to read what what happens next.

Six of Crow Duology by Leigh Bardugo

Okay, the reason I included both books is because I read them both this year I loved this duology. It gave us great characters and I loved how they all interacted with each other. It also gave us a different view of the Grisha universe. I really wish Leigh Bardugo would write more about these characters.

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

A very surprising good book. It was the first book I read from her and it made me want to read more of her work. While the beginning did start off slow, but from the middle of the book on it was action packed. I loved the characters in the book and I can’t wait to read more about them in Our Dark Duet.

Vicious by VE Schwab

After read This Savage Song, I wanted to also read Vicious. This book was really good. It kept me engaged from page one and didn’t slow down. This book really wanted me to read more of her work.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

A book I heard so many good things about. This is a book that is very unconventional, told through IMs, chats, emails, and dossiers, and it still kept you engaged. I will be reading Gemina very soon hopefully.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

A book that was on my TBR list for a while now, this book was also awesome. I loved how it mixed Greek and Roman mythology and put it in a Sci Fi world. I should also be reading the sequels very soon.

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

I know it came out last year and everyone is talking about Empire of Storms But I still loved book, I like seeing how the series changed from the first book and seeing Cealena/Aelin grow as a character and also seeing a new favorite char cater in Manon.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

A historical retelling with a fantasy twist. I loved how it reminded me a lot of Monty Python and Princess Bride. Really loved this book.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

After reading and loving her Lunar Chronicles series, I was very excited to see how she handles the world of Wonderland, and it was amazing. I loved how she told the origin of the Red Queen and made it almost like Wicked.

Those are my favorite reads of 2016. What were your favorite reads of 2016? Let me know in the comments below.

Also my one year bloggiverasy is coming up. And I am doing a give away. Go to this post for more details. I am doing a Q&A so ask me anything either on this post or the previous post.

Hope you all have a fabulous holiday!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hype or Like Friday: Best Reads of 2016

Leave a Reply

