Hype or Like Friday: Worst Reads of 2016

Hello Friday everybody,

The Theme for December is Year End reads of 2016 and the Book of the Month is A Thousand Pieces of You

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and the post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.
December 16: Worst Reads of 2016 – A little different than top over-hyped. What books did you read this year that you absolutely couldn’t stand?

Disclaimer: I know some of these books may have fan bases and if you liked them that is fine, these books just weren’t for me.

Wink Poppy Midnight by: April Genevieve Tuchloke

This was more of a let down than a worst read. I was expecting something like Pretty Little Liars and a nice murder mystery plot with a lot of twists and turns, and it was very boring. While I did like some of the characters the plot was just a mess and the twist was very boring.

Never Never by Brianna Shrum

C

This was another book I was very disappointed in. I was intrigued by the premise, mainly because I like fairy tale retelling told from the villains perspective e.i. Wicked. While it did start off pretty good, the story started becoming a mess when James becomes Captain Hook. There wasn’t a lot of build up in becoming Captain Hook.

Queen of Someday by Sherry D. Ficklin

This was a book that started off so well, and than in ventured into YA cliche territory. With dumb romances and really bad love triangles or squares by the end of the book. The book was extremely dull and boring as well.

The Registry by Shannon Stoker

This was another premise that should have been amazing, but than ended up boring. It  could have had an interesting commentary on gender and society but than it ventured into dumb romances in which the whole plot stopped just to address a love triangle.

 

Those are the books that I didn’t like of 2016. What are your worst reads of 2016? Let me know in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “Hype or Like Friday: Worst Reads of 2016

  1. Ahhh! Never Never is on this list? 😂 I bought that when I first started blogging and still haven’t read it. I think I will hold off for now. WPM was a book I originally DNF and was seriously boring and weird at times, but I was shocked how much I liked it in the last 10 pages or so. That’s when all the development seemed to happen, which was a shame because most of it was dull.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry about Never Never, I did like it in the beginning but I felt it was very rushed. I also agree about WPM, I felt most of the story was very dull and it was disappointing because I liked the characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of those books! I was so disappointed in What Pretty Girls Are Made Of I am still mad at the book, haha! Also The Death Cure was a massive letdown.

    Like

Leave a Reply

