Wink Poppy Midnight by: April Genevieve Tucholke

Summary:

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

The Review:

This was a book I kept seeing at both my local library and bookstores I normally frequent. The cover looked good and the premise kinda intrigues me, so I decided to get it on Overdrive since it was available. This was another case of an interesting premise with poor execution.

Let’s first discuss the characters, Wink is a character I feel is straight out of a Rainbow Rowell, and I mean that in the best possible way. I like how she lives in her own world and she sees the world as a fantasy story with heroes and villain.

Poppy. is basically Regina George and Blair Waldorf rolled into one. She is the quintessential Queen Bee of the school, and has a band of followers called the Yellows.

Midnight is the character with the least amount of development, or a lot of a personality and came across as your typical YA male lead without much depth to him.

The plot mostly revolves around love triangle between Wink, Poppy and Midnight. But the problem I have with it ois that it is very thinly developed. I feel that the three main leads are better on their own and not having a thin romance attached in order to add conflict with the story.

I did like the differing POV chapters, and I liked that it each charters POV chapter had its own distinct voice to it, and saw how they saw the world which added a lot to the story.

At first I was intrigued by the plot because I do love mystery plots such as Pretty Little Liars. But the problem I had was that it took so long for the mystery plot to get going, and once the so called “twist” was revealed it felt so meh.I wouldn’t have had a problem with the twist but there was so much build up and the pay off was so disappointing.

In the end, Wink Poppy Midnight was a book that had an interesting premise but a very flawed execution. It was also let down by a a thinly developed romance plot.

Grade: 2.5/5

 

One thought on “Wink Poppy Midnight by: April Genevieve Tucholke

  1. You’re the second one I’ve seen to rate this book, and it’s low. I’m so not surprised for some reason. I had a feeling about that book (I get gut feelings to avoid some books bc I just know I’m not going to like them)…looks like my gut paid off again!
    Sorry you had to suffer through this, but I appreciate the review! 😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

