Across the Universe by: Beth Revis

Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone—one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship —tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

The Review:

This is another one, in my series of tackling my TBR list and it as on my list for years mainly because I am a fan of space and science fiction, and I do like settings in space. I can say I actually enjoyed reading this book.

First of all, the setting was great. Taking place mostly in a spaceship on its way to a distant planet in search for new life and new civilization. It reminded me a lot of Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica. Even how the rules of the spaceship was also very intriguing, especially dealing with the “mating” process.

I also liked the characters. Amy who was awakened to early was pretty compelling. She was a good character in which to envision the world with. She was asking questions, and also learning about the rules of the ship. She was also one of the first people to realize that something else was going on in the ship.

Than there is Elder, who is basically training to be the Eldest, who is the suppose to be the future leader of the world. I like that he was also another POV character to follow because he was an also established character in that world. I think it was a very smart move to have duo POVS because it helped see the world through the eyes of two people, one of which who is new to the world and another character who exists in the world. It helped make the story a bit more clearer.

A majority of the book is a lot of background information about the trip through space to find the “New World” even if it is going to take years and years to do so. It was a better type of info dump, in which the story still had a progression while also giving us information about the world. My problem is that it took at least until half way through the story for any type of conflict to begin. While it was a good conflict, it felt very basic with a whodunit feel to it. But you also saw the twist coming.

In the end, I think Across the Universe was a very good starter book of the trilogy that does a good job introducing characters, and the world it is set in. While it had a basic plot, it was still an enjoyable read.

Grade: 3.5/5

6 thoughts on “Across the Universe by: Beth Revis

  1. Fleur @ Frankly Books says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this! I’ve had this book on my shelf for ages, but I was never really sure whether I should read it or give it away. Scifi has never really been my thing. Basic plots can be good things when you’re looking for something quick to read! Thanks for the review, it made me consider the book in a more positive light.

    Fleur @ FranklyBooks just posted WAITING ON WEDNESDAY (1)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

