The Girl of Fire and Thorns by: Rae Carson

Summary:

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

The Review:

This was another book on my very large TBR list and I decided to finally give it a read, and I enjoyed it.

Let me first discuss the character, I love Elisa. I felt it was very refreshing to an YA-heroine that wasn’t perfect and acknowledge her imperfections. Also her plot didn’t involve dumb romances and felt forced in.

I felt some of the supporting characters could have had a but more development, such as Alejandro who I felt was a pretty good character and sort of love interest but he could have used some background because I like his scenes with Elisa and Alejandro.

I also loved Elisa’s relationship with Ximena because you don’t see a lot of female-female friendships, and she was a great supporting character.

I also felt that the world building could have been a better. The thing with fantasy novels is trying to set up setting, and I did get a descent sense of the setting but I wanted the book to dive more deeper into the lore, maybe the next few books swill dive deeper into the lore.

I also liked the plot, it was a different take on the “chosen one” trope, and it was great to see Elisa come into her powers.

I also liked the use of reliogion and how it tied into the world, which you don’t see a a lot in fantasy novels.

In the end, The Girl of Fire and Thorns was a very solid first book, in hopefully a good series, while the world building could have been better, it gave us a great main character in Elisa and I want to see more of her story.

Grade: 3/5

3 thoughts on “The Girl of Fire and Thorns by: Rae Carson

Leave a Reply

