Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Summary:

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

The Review: 

I seriously don’t know what to say in this review without spoiling anything so here we go. This book was an amazing conclusion to an awesome duology. I really liked Six of Crows, and I thought it was leaps and bounds better than the Grisha trilogy. Here is my review for Six of Crows.

Crooked Kingdom picks up right where Six of Crows left off, with Inej captured, and the rest of the crew trying to rescue her. Right within the first few pages the book was in GO mode, and it did not stop at all. It did not have one dull moment, and it was exciting page after page.

The characters are still amazing, and each of them went through their own significant arc. One of my favorites is Inej, even though she spent the first few chapters of the book imprisoned she still was very useful and could still handle herself which is what I loved about it. Most times when you see a strong female protagonist in a book than all of a sudden in the third act she has to get rescued and become damsel-ed. Here she wasn’t damsel-ed and was even trying to rescue herself before the crew got her and finished the job. I also loved her relationship with Kaz. It was well written, and well developed and you want to see them succeed in the end. I even liked the scenes where she had to fight another “spider” like her, which was of course amazing.

I also loved Kaz in this book. Like I said in the Six of Crows review, he is basically the Malcolm Reynolds of this world, and while he mostly cares about money he cares a lot about his crew and what happens to them. He was still the snarky con man who was always trying to be one step ahead of everyone.

My other favorite character is Jesper. I really liked his storyline in this book especially the scenes with his father, and the relationship with his dead mother. Even though he found out he was a fabrikator, in Six of Crows, I liked his struggle with his Grisha powers, but I would have liked to have seen more of his powers. His relationship with Wylan was also great. I loved their back and forth with each other. I also liked Wylan’s story and I liked the fact that he had POV chapters, and got to see more of what he was thinking. Also looking into his relationship with his father. I liked that Wylan and Jesper are the very few LGBTQA+

Nina and Matthias character arcs in this book was also well done, especially Matthias’s arc. Dealing with his personal religions and his relationship with Nina.

The crews relationship with each other is what really made the book work. Like I said in my Six of Crows review, they reminded me a lot of the crew from Serenity in the show Firefly. They all have distinct personalities and Leigh Bardugo did a good job at meshing all of those distinct personalities within the story. This is a cast of characters I would love to see in more books, but since it is a duology this is unfortunate the least we will see of the characters.

In the end, Crooked Kingdom was a fantastic conclusion to an amazing duology, with great characters and a plot that keeps you engaged from page one. Even if you weren’t a fan of the Grisha trilogy like I was,, I would still fully recommend this book series.

Grade: 5/5

4 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Can’t wait to read Grisha and then Six of Crows: my library has Crooked Kingdom for check out every time I come in and the book taunts me with wanting to be read! But so many ppl recommend I read her Grisha trilogy first to understand the story world…so I continue to wait!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

