Queen of Shadows by: Sarah J. Maas

Summary:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The Review:

I know, I know I am basically a year late for the review and while everyone was reading Empire of Storms, I was reading Queen of Shadows. But I really liked this book and it was much better than Heir of Fire which I felt had a lot of pacing issues.

This book picks up where Heir of Fire left off, Celaena, now Aelin going back to rescue her cousin Aeodin who was being held prisoner by the King.  I also felt that the Manon chapters actually lead to something because I honestly thought that Manon was going to be the Danearys chapters from a Song of Ice an Fire, being so far from the action that it shouldn’t matter. But I loved the Manon chapters and she is slowly becoming one of favorites. I also liked her relationship with Elide.

One of my favorite parts is where Manon and Aelin. You see a great build up of these two characters in previous books and seeing them meet was the highlight of the book and I hope to see more scenes with them in future books

Like I said earlier, the story was a lot better paced than Heir of Fire, which I felt was a lot of transitioning and not enough plot to really get the book going. This book had a lot of great plot elements throughout the book and you actually got to see a lot of the magic that was always mentioned in previous books but never shown.

I also liked the relationship between Rowan and Aelin. While I would have preferred it not to be a romantic relationship and more of a mentor-mentee relationship, at least it felt a bit more organic than forced, like most other YA fantasy books. I also felt that Celaena/Aelin was a lot less whiny in this book than in Heir of Fire

The climax of the book is what I really loved with all of the characters storming the kingdom, and I honestly felt like this could have been a good final book of the series, if it weren’t for the cliffhanger ending.

In the end, I really enjoyed Queen of Shadows and I hope to enjoy Empire of Storms and what more Sarah J Maas has to offer in the series.It was a return to form of the series and it gave us the action that we love.

Grade: 4/5

 

 

3 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by: Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

