Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

Happy Wednesday everyone, here I am with another Top 5 Wednesday and the topic is:

September 28: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre
–What books do you think are good to introduce people to your favorite genre? If you have more than one favorite genre, feel free to split it up to cover both.

Another great topic, mainly because I always love recomennding books to people especially if they want to look at other genres.

Fantasy:

A Song of Ice and Fire aka Game of Thrones by George RR Martin

If you like fantasy, especially those with political intrigue and a lot of back stabbing and many sides. I know I talk a lot about the book series, but it is amazing. Also the world building is how I measure up every fantasy novel and series that I read.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes:

Calling it a YA answer to Game of Thrones would be an understatement, while it does sort of follow the same beats. Mainly the differing POV and seeing different worlds it is still a great series that I like to recommend to everyone who is a fan of fantasy.

Six of Crows by: Leigh Barugo

While I wasn’t a fan of the Grisha trilogy but Six of Crows blew me away. I loved how it was a heist book set within a fantasy world. I know that Crooked Kingdom is out, but I haven’t read it yet so please no spoilers.

Dystopian Fiction

The Legend Trilogy by: Marie Lu

Another favorite book trilogies, and is one of my favorite series of all time. I love all the characters and the world that Marie Lu created. I also like how politics plays a role in the series, mainly because my major in college was political science.

Fairy tale retelling:

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

As a fan of the Disney classics growing up I knew this was the book for me and also as a fan of Once Upon a Time. I love how she mixes a lot of the Fairy Tale classics with science fiction and it made for an awesome that I always recommend it to anyone who is a fan of fairy tale retelling.

That is my list. WhatΒ are your gateway books to your favorite genre? Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

  1. Great picks! I’ll never tire of seeing people pick up George RR. Martin for the very first time. Little do they know, their whole life is about to change & be turned upside down in a good way lol. The Lunar Chronicles is a fave of mine as well for your same reasons, can’t wait for OUAT to return πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes it is! For some reason us George RR Martin fans can’t seem to stop looking for heartbreak. We love his books & what they do to us so much that we demand more heartbreak πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I loved The Lunar Chronicles and Marissa Mayer is truly a sweetheart. I had the chance to meet her at a book signing event & she could not have been any nicer or more welcoming. She was my first event signing & I’m glad it was a good one πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Song of Ice and Fire were my first fantasy books after Tamora Pierce! I made the mistake of picking up Game of Thrones when I was twelve and was than a little scarred by Jamie and Cersei bumping uglies but was happy to return to the series a few years ago, when I was a little older πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

