Hype or Like Friday: Hyped Books You were Forced to Read in School

Happy Friday everyone,

September’s Theme for Hype of Like Friday is Back to School and the Book of Month is Carry on by Rainbow Rowell

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and the post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

September 23rd- Hyped Books I Was Forced To Read In School – Some people are not fans of one of my favorites, Fitzgerald (sigh), and maybe it was because you were forced to read a certain book or books that made you dislike certain hyped-up books.

This topic will most likely be a little different because when I was school, I fairly enjoyed the books I had to read for school regardless of weather or not they were hyped.

The Diary of Anne Frank-8th Grade

Before reading this book, I did know a little about her story but after reading about her story about the time her and her family was hiding in the attic, it got me thinking a lot about the Holocaust and its victims. Even after her death, her story is still being told to this day in schools.

Night by Elie Wiesel-9th grade

Speaking of the Holocaust, Night was another amazing book by a Holocaust survivor who details his time at a concentration camp. This book was so emotionally gripping and it was one of the first times I read in full detail what happened at concentration camps.

The works of William Shakespeare

 

Yeah you knew this was coming and I think most of us have read one his plays in high school. My favorites included; Macbeth, Hamlet, A Midsummer Nights Dream ,Much Ado About Nothing and Othello. I surprising didn’t read Romeo and Juliet in high school and mainly saw the Leonardo Dicaprio movie.

Animal Farm by George Orwell

The Russian Revolution of 1917 as told by animals. I fairly enjoyed this book very much. This book also got me to read his other work like 1984 which is one of my favorite dystopian novels.

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

I read this book three times for school. Once was a summer reading, the second was high school English and a third was a Women and Gender studies course on 20th Century Women Writers, so let’s just say I know too much about this book but I still enjoyed it.It’s a great book that I am always happy to revisit.

There are the hyped books that I was forced to read in school. Which hyped books were you forced to read in school? Did you end up enjoying them? Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Hype or Like Friday: Hyped Books You were Forced to Read in School

  1. All excellent books!
    If you want to read a good Holocaust book that I read in school (Night hadn’t come out then), then try Number The Stars by Lois Lowry. Wonderful book, and Lowry also wrote The Giver. I met her when I was in elementary school and it changed my life. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

