Six of Crows by: Leigh Bardugo

Summary: 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

The Review:

I was very hesitant to read this book, mainly because I wasn’t a huge fan of Leigh Bardugo’s other series The Grisha Trilogy. I read Shadow and Bone and really didn’t get what the big deal about the book was. I thought it was just an okay read and it didn’t make me want to continue the series. But I was told that this book is better than the Grisha trilogy,and let me say that she was totally right.

First, lets discuss the characters. Kaz is my favorite, I know it may seem obvious because he is the main character but I like that he is snarky, a trickster, willing to do anything to get ahead. I see him as a young Malcolm Reynolds from Firefly. Than there is Inez, who is basically Kaz’s lieutenant, who does most of his spy work. She me a lot of Black Widow; in which she knows how to sneak around places. Jesper, who is the gunner of the group is sort of like Jayne from Firefly and I like his back-and-forth with Kaz during the mission.

Nina, is one of my favorites of the group. She is a Heartrender, within the Grisha hierarchy in which she can basically give people heart attacks. She uses most of skills to survive. Matthias, who is a witch-hunter who joins the group after they break him out of prison has some strange history with Nina and I also love their relationship in the group. Wylan is the son of a council member of Ketterdam who acts as a Sixth ranger of the group who specializes in explosives.

I love all of the characters in this book. I don’t know if this was intentional or not, but it reminded me of the crew from Firefly. All of them have very distinct personalities and they have to work together. They all also have a great set of skills that is helpful for the mission.

The plot focuses involves bringing in a scientist who is building a formula that will increase a Grisha’s power. Kaz is responsible of getting a crew together in order to do it. While the mission may seem generic at first but I like that the main focus of the book is the relationship between the characters and how they work together. That is what made the story very strong.

I also love a lot of the twist and turns that the happens throughout the story, and seeing how the group has to adapt to them and being forced to change their approach to the mission.

If I were to point out a negative I think it is the world-building. I could tell as I read the book that it was made for those who have knowledge about the Grisha trilogy. As I said earlier I only read Shadow and Bone, so some of the terminology confused me a little bit and I had to think about how that term fits within the story. Maybe if I continued to read the Grisha trilogy I would have gotten those terms.

In the end, I enjoyed reading this book and finally sees what the fuss was about. I am definitely excited to read Crooked Kingdom when it comes out next week and to see what’s in store for our characters.

Grade: 4.4/5

 

11 thoughts on “Six of Crows by: Leigh Bardugo

  1. So glad you enjoyed it! I also only read Shadow and Bone when I read this book and I agree that some things were a little confusing. I read Siege and Storm since but haven’t decided if I want to pick up the third one..
    Anyway, you read this just in time for Crooked Kingdom! I have it pre-ordered 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

