Hype or Like Friday: Favorite Science Fiction Books

Hello all,

Septembers Hype of Like Friday the is Back to School and the Book of Month is Carry on by Rainbow Rowell

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and the post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

September 9th- I Love Science: My Favorite Science Fiction Books- This can be anything you want. Science fiction can be anything from time travel to DNA mutations like X-Men. You can go with comic books or novels. Whatever you feel like writing about.

My Favorite Science Fiction books are:

Ready Player One by: Ernest Cline

One of my favorite books. It has great references to 80s pop culture. It is Willy Wonka meets the Matrix. If you like anything from the 80s from video games, TV and movies of that era this is the book for you. Here is my review of the book.

Saga by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples

One of my favorite graphic novels, this is a series about a galactic war with two parents from warring factions caught in the middle along with their newborn daughter. It is very adult with a lot of violence and adult situations, but I still highly recommend it if you are a fan of graphic novels. Here is my review of Vol. 1.

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti.

A YA version of Heroes, and one of my favorite books I read this summer and it surprised me on how much I loved the characters. While it wasn’t as plot heavy, but I did like that the fact that the story was mostly character driven. Here is my review of the book.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

 

I know the author is an asshole, but I didn’t know that before I read the book. I really loved it. I love Ender as a character and I love the world it takes place in.

The Thrawn Trilogy by: Timothy Zahn

I was kinda disappointed that Disney/Star Wars took out the cannon for the expanded universe. Even though it’s not in cannon anymore, I still fully recommend giving it a read because Thrawn is one of my favorite Star Wars villains.

That’s my list of favorite science fiction books. What are your favorites? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Hype or Like Friday: Favorite Science Fiction Books

  1. Ready Player One is next to me as I’m writing this. Another book I need to read before the end of the year! There are so many sci-fi books to choose from that from a baby scifi reader, I feel overwhelmed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I haven’t read any graphic novels before, but I’ve seen Saga everywhere and it’s really been making me want to try it out. I also enjoyed Ready Player One but sometimes the random trivia was a bit overkill for me. And Ender’s Game is great, even though, yes the author is an asshole. I actually just bought Pathfinder, which is the first book in one of his newest series. I haven’t read it yet but I’m interested in seeing if it measures up to Ender! My dad’s currently reading it and seems to really enjoy it, so I guess that’s good news lol. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

