Half Bad by Sally Green

Summary:

Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive.

My Review:

This is a book I kinda picked up on a whim, because I thought the premise looked interesting and I liked the whole good witch or bad witch dichotomy. I think the problem with the book that it lacked the execution.

First of all, I liked the character of Nathan and I actually liked his story arc in the book. He was dealing with the basically the sins of the father, and paying for what is father did, and also him trying to find his father in order to get into the good graces of the White council.

I liked him being arrested and planning his escape, and that’s what I felt was the most exciting part of the book, and then towards the middle it was just a lot of waiting for the action to take place without much character development, and that’s what took me out of story.

I just felt that everything else in the book was kinda messy. I didn’t really connect with  a lot of the supporting characters and I felt they just came and went into the story. I also felt it didn’t really dive into the lore, and answer some questions such as; How did witches and humans integrate with one another or the origins of the White council and other main differences between White witches and Black witches and seeing some moral grayness within. Maybe those questions get answered in the sequels.

In the end, I felt that the premise was good but execution wasn’t. While the main protagonist was engaging, the supporting characters were thinly developed. I may read the rest of series, but I am not in a quick hurry to do so.

Grade: 2.6/5

 

Leave a Reply

