Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite First Sentences

Happy Wednesday all,

For this weeks top 4 Wednesday it is Favorite First Sentences.

What is great about first sentences is that it sets the mood for the book and makes you want to keep reading.

Top 5 Wednesday is a group in Goodreads and was formerly created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is now done by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. It is open to everyone.

“When I think of my wife, I always think of her head.” from Gone Girl

When I first read Gone Girl, this line stood out for me because it had a mystery behind it. It introduced both Nick and his Wife Amy. It was also the first line of the movie as well and that really set the tone of how the movie is.

“Mr and Mrs Dursley, of number four Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”  from Harry Potter and the Sorecers Stone

What I liked about that first sentence, is that it introduced the Dursleys as a normal family who don’t know that their lives are about to change.

“He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air” from the Maze Runner

I know a lot of people didn’t really like the series, but I really did. What I liked about that sentence was that it set up the plot of the book and also the mystery about the book. How the character feels a sense of unknown when waking up in a new place.

“This is what I remember. My lips were cut. I bit down on them as he grabbed me from behind and covered my mouth” From Lucky by ALice Sebold

While a very triggering line. It was a very powerful sentence and changed Alice Sebolds life, as she was about to get assaulted.

“MOON. GLORIOUS MOON. FULL, FAT, REDDISH moon, the night as light as day, the moonlight flooding down across the land and bringing joy, joy, joy. Bringing too the full-throated call of the tropical night, the soft and wild voice of the wind roaring through the hairs on your arm, the hollow wail of starlight, the teeth-grinding bellow of the moonlight off the water” from Darkly Dreamy Dexter

This was an excellent first sentence. It sets upon the eerie tone of Dexter, and it goes inside his head and what a serial killer is thinking. It made me a fan of both the book and the show.

There’s my list. What are your favorite first sentences. Let me know in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite First Sentences

  1. The opening line from The Maze Runner is very intriguing – and your list served to remind me that I should definitely pick up the book some day. 🙂

    Harry Potter made it onto my Top 5 too. Personally I love how the sentence has a slightly uppity tone because of the “thank you very much”; it definitely introduces the Dursleys in the most accurate way possible!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ADORE THAT FIRST SENTENCE FROM HP!!! I basically just started reading Harry Potter and when I read that first sentence it cracked me up 🙂
    And also the one from Gone Girl, got me like “whaaaaat?”

    My T5W if you wanna check it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

