Suicide Squad Movie Review

Hello everyone,

Here is another movie review for one of my most anticipated summer movies Suicide Squad.

If you read my trailer review you know how excited I was for the movie, and to be honest I actually enjoyed it.

Suicide Squad is a group of people from Task Force X who are recruited by Amanda Waller (Viola Davis) to do the tough jobs and be a fail safe if a worse version of Superman comes to Earth.

What made the movie good for me was the cast. The cast worked really well together and you actually cared about the characters and most of them had good arcs mainly El Diablo (Jay Hernandez). But the two stand outs were Deadshot (Will Smith) and Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie). I could see why Will Smith sat the Independence Day: Resurgence out. It was also exciting to see Harley Quinn in live-action for the first time and Margot Robbie did a great job at the portrayal. This movie also got a good performance out of Jai Courtney.

I also loved how the characters interacted with each other and seeing many difference personalities clash with each other, but also cares about each other and the bar scene really did a good job at establish their characters.

A negative that I have for this movie is the main villain. The villains plot as a average “take over the world” with a device that we seen in Avengers, X-Men Apocalypse and the Ninja Turtles. I also felt the villain was not as developed as I wanted it to be and it was your average comic book movie villain without a lot of depth. I also would have liked to see more Joker (Jared Leto), but since he wasn’t a part of the squad it is understandable why he wasn’t in the movie. While Heath Ledger and Mark Hamill are my favorite Jokers I think Leto did a good job at making the Joker his own.

I also felt some of the editing was a bit choppy and while some of the use of music worked well for the movie, there was other times that it felt a bit tacked on.

In the end I thought the movie was really good and I felt the critics were a bit harsh on the movie. I felt the positives outweighed the negatives and I still liked the movie.

Grade: B+

 

Leave a Reply

