Top 5 Wednesday: Settings I would like to see more of

Happy Wednesday everyone,

Here is another Top 5 Wednesday, and this week it is Top 5 Settings you would like to see more of.

Top 5 Wednesday is a group in Goodreads and was formerly created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is now done by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. It is open to everyone.

The Ancient World

As a history buff, the ancient world was always fascinated me, in particular ancient Egypt with it being one of the first civilizations, so it has large potentials for a series. I always would like to see an Egyptian version of Game of Thrones

A Desert Island

As a fan of both Lost and Lord of the Flies. A desert island has a multitude of possibility for a compelling story. Having to deal with how humans have to survive on an island with limited resources.

A Galaxy Far Far Away…. or Space

No it is not Star Wars. But what I always felt was lacking in most YA books is a good space opera set across the galaxy Space also has endless possibilities for compelling stories thanks to TV shows like Star Trek, Firefly and Battlestar Galactica. It could also introduce political and social commentary.

The Wild West

Growing up I always loved Westerns. I believe that Westerns shouldn’t just be reserved for TV Shows and Movies. I think there is a possibility for a great series set in West, dealing with lawmen and robbers. Also seeing lawless town and how they survive.Not all westerns need to be set on Earth.

Victorian London

As a fan of Sherlock, this is one I would love to see. Everything about Victorian London fascinates me, and could lead to a great murder mystery series. I think it could also introduce some Steampunk elements as well.

There’s my list. What settings would you like to see more of. Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Settings I would like to see more of

  1. I really love Western and Pioneer themes but I find it’s hard to find one without religious overtones – like I don’t want a lesson, I want blood. Did you read True Grit? It was very good! (and hell yes to Lawmen in space)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with all your pics, and I think those would all be awesome settings to see more of. I especially agree with you on The Ancient World, as it seems that most of the books I’ve read with that setting haven’t been done too too well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

