X-Men Apocalypse Movie Review

Hello everyone,

Sorry, that I haven’t posted in a while. I was extremely busy being away at several graduations including my own so I haven’t had time to read or post.

For this post I am reviewing the latest X-Men movie X-Men Apocalypse.

For my history with the X-Men, I grew up reading the comics and watching the 90s animated series, I do know about a lot of the characters and story-lines. Now lets talk about the movie.

The movie picks up 10 years after the events of X-Men: Days of Future Past, with Brian Singer back in the directors chair. The Xavier School for Gifted Youngsters is back in session with Professor Charles Xavier (James McAvoy) leading the school. Mutants aren’t seen as a viable threat thanks to Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) role in saving the president from the last movie. Also what has happened back in Egypt was that what was said to be first Mutant has reawakened and wants to take over with the help of his Four Horseman. Angel (Ben Hardy), PsyLocke (Olivia Munn), Storm (Alexanra Shipp) and Magneto (Michael Fassbender).

The X-Men has to use some new students which include Jean Grey (Sophie Turner), Cyclops (Tye Sheriden) and Nightcrawler (Kodi Smit-McPhee) in order to stop Apocalypse from destroying the world.

I really liked this movie. While it wasn’t as good as First Class or Days of Future Past, it still did a good job at adapting the Apocalypse story, but also gave us a sense of danger on how Apocalypse was such a threat and needed to be stopped. I thought the new X-Men or the younger versions of Jean, Scott and Kurt were very good, especially if it was their first mission.

I also loved that they brought back Quicksilver (Evan Peters) from the Days of Future Past and used him again for this movie by having him actually join the team. If you liked his scene from Days of Future Past, you will defiantly love his scene in Apocalypse.

While I did like this movie, it wasn’t without flaws. I think it had some pacing problems in the beginning which was basically playing catch up from the characters of the last movie. Another weak aspect was how Mystique spent most of the movie in “Jennifer Lawrence” mode. I thought Jennifer Lawrence did a good job, but if you read the comics the aspect of Mystique is that she doesn’t hid who she really is, it also defeated the purpose of her arc in First Class.

I also felt the the Four Horsemen, aside from Storm and Magneto didn’t get their fair share of development as I thought they should have. But that would have made the movie 3 hours long.

In the end, I enjoyed X-Men Apocalypse, while not as good as First Class or Days of Future Past, it was still an enjoyable X-Men movie.

Grade: A-

One thought on “X-Men Apocalypse Movie Review

  1. I wonder why Jennifer Lawrence agreed to do the movie in the first place, seems like she wasn’t too into it. Luckily Evan Peters was awesome. Can’t have an X-Men movie without a fun Quicksilver scene, now can we haha? Nice review, are you currently sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

