Hype or Like: Tragically Bad or Superbly Awesome Books

Happy Friday everyone,

For this weeks Hype or Like Friday I will be discussing Tragically Bad and Superbly Awesome Books

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and the post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

For my pick for a tragically bad book it is Fifty Shades of Grey

 

After read Jillian’s post on awful dialogue last week, it caused me to revisit how awful the book really is. Most would say its a book series that set the women movement back 100 years, with a male lead who is a controlling abusive  stalker who needs psychological help and not a girlfriend. That is true, but I want to tell why it is bad from a story perspective. The story is just Twilight fan-fiction, that got a publishing deal. Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey are just stand ins for Bella and Edward with a much blander love story. Which got me thinking, if you take out all of the BDSM scenes in the book, than it is just a dumb love story, with a man who is a controlling abusive stalker.

Also the dialogue is just awful especially Anastasia inner monologue or her “inner goddess”. I think it just annoys me that a book with that much awful dialogue got a publishing deal and became a best seller.

My pick for my superbly awesome book it is The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

The reason why the book series is awesome is because it is very different from the normal YA genre. It was developed characters, a great plot and story, and manages to retell fairy tales in a different way while maintaining the essence of the original tales. While Cinder starts off a bit slow, the story really picks up in Scarlet and Cress. I also consider Winter to be a very good final book of the series that both develops the characters and gives us a satisfying conclusion.

What are your favorite tragically bad and/or superbly awesome books. Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Hype or Like: Tragically Bad or Superbly Awesome Books

  1. I have never read Fifty Shades of Grey and I never will. Some might say I can’t judge if I haven’t experienced the atrocity of it, but I forced myself to watch the movie, I can’t handle more than that. I will never get those hours back 😦 Jill’s post last week about it was epic and those lines were awful.
    I have yet to read The Lunar Chronicles, but I heard good things about the series.
    Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good points about 50 Shades. It really is just a scary romance. I don’t even know how to call it a love story because as a woman, it’s a very frightening tale. I would run like hell if Christian came near me. Haha! And Ana is such an idiot. I agree 100% about that book setting us back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

