Top 5 Wednesday: Books with “hard” topics

Happy Wednesday, and it is time for another Top 5 Wednesday. This week is books with “hard” topics, which could include: sexual assault, drugs, mental health, illness etc.

Top 5 Wedneday is a group in Goodreads and was formely created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is now done by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. It is open to everyone.

Also trigger warning/content warning because the books I will talk about deal with depression, suicide, sexual assault, eating disorders,  and school shootings.

Shooter by: Walter Dean Myers (depression and school shootings)

This book is very well done. While the story structure is very different, I like how it discusses a school shooting after the fact. It is told as an interview format from both Cameron and Carla, who were friends of Leonard; the shooter and it also tells the story from Leonard’s perceptive through his journal entries. Read it if you get the chance.

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (sexual assault, depression and PTSD)

I was first introduced to this book back in high school during me Speech and Debate days. I was in Prose/Poetry and this piece was most of girls did or wanted to do. I finally read the full book in college and loved it from beginning to end. I like that it doesn’t just deal with sexual assault, but also the PTSD that went with it and also depression. I also like that it took her awhile to confess what happened to her, because knowing a few survivors it is very hard to just admit what happened and how it wasn’t their fault.

Hunger Point by Jillian Medoff (eating disorders and mental health) 

Okay so I saw the Lifetime movie before I read the book. The book is still truly amazing. It also very heartbreaking . The concept of eating disorders is a very hard topic to write and I think she nails in perfectly. It also discusses the issues of the contemporary american family and whose issues can be triggers.

Lucky by Alice Sebold (sexual assault)

Most of you would know Alice Sebold from The Lovely Bones, but this is a memoir about a sexual assualt that happened to her. I like that the book goes from the sexual assault, her admitting it, the court case and the aftermath. My review is here. It’s very intense so give it a read.

Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (depression and mental health)

I know I discussed this book before, but I can’t help it is really good. It deals with Charlie starting high school while dealing with his friends suicide. He goes through the normal high school motions but it deals with Charlie’s mental health issues and what happened between him and his aunt Helen.

Hope you enjoyed my list and share yours down below.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books with “hard” topics

Leave a Reply

