Planet Urth by Jennifer and Christopher Martucci

Summary (via Goodreads): More than two hundred years into the future, human beings are an endangered species. The planet has been battered by war, its inhabitants plagued by disease and death. Few humans survived and remained unaffected. Most changed dramatically and evolved into something else entirely. Irrevocable alterations caused by chemical warfare have created a new species. North America is in ruins and has been overtaken. Humanity has fallen at the hands of mutants known as Urthmen.
Seventeen year-old Avery is alive and unchanged. But she has not been immune to the harshness of the new world. She has lived on the run for much of her life, in terror.
After losing her father, Avery is the sole guardian of her eight-year-old sister, June. Avery is now charged with June’s safety as well as her own, a nearly impossible task.
Forced to hide deep in the forest and away from the cities overrun by Urthmen, Avery and her sister are constantly hunted. Danger awaits them at every turn. They fear they are the only human beings left, that they are the last of their kind.
But are they truly alone?
Find out in this raw and rousing first installment of the Planet Urth series.

My Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book. It was a free book from my Nook and the premise did sound interesting, so I decided to give it a read.

What I liked about the book was the setting, while I could have a gotten a story that was set a couple of years after the end of world I think the two hundred years later setting works because it sets up the status qou. I also think the world building was very well done and set up the conflict perfectly.

I also the minimal characters that the book had. It primarily focused on the main character Avery and her sister June. I really liked their relationship, it reminded me of Katniss and Prim and how Avery had to protect June from the world and also teach June how to protect herself. It is something that you rarely see in YA novels, which is a relationship between siblings.

This book was basically a better version of “After Earth”, which showcases who now inhabitants of “Urth”, including Urthman who I like to describe as the Reevers from Firefly/Serenity. I hope that in future we know their origins.

I think my only problem with the book is that it just ends, without really any cliffhanger and Avery and June meet with other survivors who are orphans and they from a make shift family. But regardless of the ending, I still enjoyed the book and look forward to reading more from the series.

Grade: 3.8/5

Leave a Reply

