Hype or Like Friday #1

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and the post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

For this week it is Top 10 hyped up books. For this it doesn’t necessarily mean bad, I just felt they were over hyped. If you like any of these books or series that’s fine.

Top 10 Hyped Up books: not in any order

The Darkest Minds Trilogy

This is a book series that had a great premise but the story and execution was poorly done. I mean, kids with powers should be a great premise alone, but the problem was the powers were not clearly defined.

The Mortal Instruments Series

Talk about an over hyped series. Everyone kept saying its Harry Potter meets Buffy, and of course not a bad combination but I really hated the love story, and I actually like the supporting characters better than the two leads. I only read the first two, so tell me that it gets better.

The Winners Curse 

If you read my T5W DNF, this was on the list. I felt the characters were boring and flat and the plot was messy, and when the story finally picked up I didn’t feel anything for the characters.

John Green books

Ok, the only book I actually liked was the Fault in our Stars. But than when I read his other books I felt the tropes were very repetitive. It was Paper Towns that kinda had me lose interest in his books.

Nicholas Sparks books

A Walk to Remember was a book I really likes, I also enjoyed the Notebook. But like with John Green books the book tropes become so repetitive that every book is the same story.

Shadow and Bone trilogy

I read the first book, but it was such a chore to get through and I could see the plot twist coming a mile away. I though the book was okay but no where near the level of hype.

Alice in Zombieland

The title alone should have made this awesome. But what ruined it was the dumb insta-love and the poorly written plot.

Fifty Shades of Grey

In the end the book is just Twilight fan fiction, that is really poorly written and with poorly developed characters.

Thirteen Reasons Why

Okay you probably think I am a heartless bastard but hear me out. I thought the book was good, but I think because when I read Shooter by Walter Dean Myers, that book didn’t hold back. I also felt that Hannah was a thinly developed character.

Throne of Glass

I actually really like this series so far, only in the middle of Heir of Fire. I think the character of Celaena is not the bad ass female character that everyone says she is. I also sometimes feel the romance is taking too much time from the action that everyone wants to see.

Those are my choices for the Top 10 over hyped books. Hope you enjoyed it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Hype or Like Friday #1

    • I know, with a title like Alice in Zombieland the book should be awesome. A couple of your choices are on my TBR. But I agree with you on Mortal Instruments.

      Like

  1. I have some of these in my TBR piles. I have to partially agree with you on TMI series. I’ve been reading through it. And, I can’t agree with you more on liking the supporting characters more than the main. Ok, I don’t care for Clary at all. lol But, I do like Jace. Great list. I enjoyed reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am reading Throne of Glass at the moment. I am not familiar with fantasy, so I can’t compare Celaena to other main characters but she appears a bit shallow to me. Still, I am enjoying the read. I never read and never intend to read 50 Shades of Grey, I forced myself to watch the show when my friends made up a “50 Shades” night. I have yet to read any John Green books, but I have heard so much about them that I keep putting it off!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thegirlfromwonderland says:

    Throne of Glass… uggghh… what a big disappointment. Out of everything on my list, that was probably the one I was most disappointed with. I wish there was more to the story that what it gave me. I heard the next books were better, but I just have no patience whatsoever to read them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

