Crystal Magic by Madeline Freeman

Summary (via Goodreads):  Nothing is safe around Kristyl Barnette. Windows break. Books rocket across the room. Lights flicker. Strange occurrences follow the sixteen-year-old everywhere.

When tragedy forces her to move to the small town of Clearwater, Michigan, with her estranged aunt Jodi, Kristyl tries to leave her past behind. But Clearwater has secrets of its own—a mystical history that intersects with Kristyl’s life and might shed light on the inexplicable events that plague her.

When a mysterious illness threatens her aunt’s life, Kristyl will do anything to cure her. Enlisting the help of witches could save Jodi, but is dealing in magic worth the consequences?

My Thoughts: I actually fairley enjoyed this book. It was free on my Nook so I decided to give it a read. The premise alone got me to consider reading, because I tend to like supernatural books anyway.

As a book I felt it was sort of like the two-hour pilot for a TV show, which isn’t really a bad thing if this is a series. It did a pretty descent job at setting up the setting, characters and plot in such a short book. It reminded me a lot of the movie The Craft, which is about teen witches.

I thought Kristyl was a good protagonist, sort of like a better version of Elena from Vampire Diaries. I like that she is at first very timid about using powers but realizes that she needs to in order to save her aunt. I thought aunt Jodi was a good mentor character to introduce her into that world. One of my negatives is that a lot of the supporting characters are not as developed as they should be. I know this is a series so hopefully they become more developed as the series goes.

In the end I think this was a very solid first book which was there to set up the characters and I will read more of this series.

Grade: 3/5

Leave a Reply

