Top 5 Wednesday: DNF-Did not finish

This is something that I wanted to do but never had the time, so this is my top 5 Wednesday which was started by Lainey and theirs a group on Goodreads.

This week is Top 5 DNF or Did not Finish, which is the top 5 books you didn’t finish. This was tricky because  I usually try to finish a book no matter how boring it is, so I am going to included series I didn’t finish as well.

Disclaimer: I know some of these books has fans, but this my opinion. If you like any of these books fine, they just weren’t for me.

  1. The Winner’s Curse:

I just couldn’t get into this book. I heard great things so I decided to read it, and it was such a chore to get through, and I also felt that the characters were very bland and uninteresting.

2. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

This is a case of when I though I was getting one story, but I wound up getting a different story. I thought it would be a retelling of Alice in Wonderland with zombies, but what I got was a story that is basically Gossip Girl. The beginning I thought was really good, but the book as it went on failed to live up to expectations and I got bored.

3. The Quarantine series by Lex Thomas

 

When I read the first book, I thought it was all right. The premise excited me, but when I read the first book the story was cliched, and the characters were uninteresting and dull.

4. The Girl Who Would be King: by Kelly Thompson

This is another example of excited by the premise, but disappointed in the story. I like that it dealt with powers that the two leading girls had, the execution of the story was disappointing and boring that I couldn’t finish it.

5. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

This was a series I felt was over hyped. I was a little underwhelmed by the first book and the world building which I felt was confusing and it had a twist that anyone could see coming. I may pick it up again because I heard the book series gets better, so I may finish it.

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: DNF-Did not finish

Leave a Reply

