Daredevil: Season one review

With season 2 of Marvel Daredevil coming up I think it is important that I share my thoughts on the first season.

First, let me address my thoughts on the 2003 movie. I didn’t hate the movie as much as most people did, I just thought it was okay. The directors cut, however is much better and I recommend that you check it out.

The show however, is so much better than the movie and I am so glad that Netflix was a part of it. It starts with Matt Murdock (Charlie Cox) and his partner Foggy Nelson (Elden Henson) starting their own law firm it Hells Kitchen. The story also sort of picks up after the events of the first Avengers movie and how Hells Kitchen is rebuilding after the Loki’s attack which they call the incident. The rebuilding is being lead by Wilson Fisk (Vincent D’Onofrio), after a young women named Karen Page(Deborah Ann Wool) uncovers some illegal dealings that Wilson Fisk is involved in she works with Matt and Foggy to uncover the scheme.

Let me start by telling how great Charlie Cox is as Matt Murdock/Daredevil. While Ben Affleck did a good job on the Matt Murdock side, Charlie Cox does a great job playing both characters.

Another highlight is Vincent D’Onofrio as Wilson Fisk. He plays such a villainous character with so much empathy and is one of the best villains in television and also in Marvel.

Also, the action and fights in the show are the best I have ever seen on television. Just watch the 2nd episode and see the hallway fight which was done in one continuous take and tell me I am wrong.

This show was truly amazing I am so excited to see season 2.

Grade: A+

Season MVP: Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio

Best Episodes: Cut Man, World on Fire/Condemned and Daredevil

Leave a Reply

