Lucky by: Alice Sebold (TW: rape/sexual assault)

Trigger warning: descriptions of rape and sexual assault

Summary (via Goodreads): In a memoir hailed for its searing candor and wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was utterly transformed when, as an eighteen-year-old college freshman, she was brutally raped and beaten in a park near campus. What propels this chronicle of her recovery is Sebold’s indomitable spirit – as she struggles for understanding (“After telling the hard facts to anyone, from lover to friend, I have changed in their eyes”); as her dazed family and friends sometimes bungle their efforts to provide comfort and support; and as, ultimately, she triumphs, managing through grit and coincidence to help secure her attacker’s arrest and conviction. In a narrative by turns disturbing, thrilling, and inspiring, Alice Sebold illuminates the experience of trauma victims even as she imparts wisdom profoundly hard-won: “You save yourself or you remain unsaved.”

My Thoughts: I was always familiar with the work of Alice Sebold, mainly through The Lovely Bones, but it also surprised me that this story was of her own sexual assault, and the first chapter was really descriptive of her rape and I praise her for being able to tell her story to the masses.

I also liked that she described what happened to her after she was raped; how it affected her psychological and also the quest to bring her rapist to justice. I also liked that it detailed the entire court proceedings and even after the court case, Alice Sebold still discussed what she went through after her assault; with her drug addiction and her quest to fully recover from her ordeal.

I also observed the title which is called “Lucky” and this is my own interpretation of the title in which she is “lucky” to have survived a rape and “lucky” that her rapist got convicted because statistics show that only 3% of rapists even serve jail time. Like I said it is my own interpretation of the title and Sebold may have a different interpretation.

As someone who has known people who were sexually assaulted it did bring up some triggers, but I really loved this book. I don’t usually read non-fiction books, but due to the subject matter I decided to read it and I don’t regret. If the subject matter is triggering I understand, but if you want to read a story about rape, survival and recovery I highly recommend it.

Grade: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Lucky by: Alice Sebold (TW: rape/sexual assault)

Leave a Reply

