Deadpool Movie review

I know I am a week late, but last week I was at a Model UN so of course I couldn’t see Deadpool opening weekend, and now I do have the chance and let me tell you it was amazing.

Before I give you my thoughts on the movie, a little history. A Deadpool movie was circling around since at least 2009 around the time XMen Origins: Wolverine came out, and the less I tell you about that Deadpool or Baraka Pool, the better. It wasn’t until 2014 that test footage was “Leaked” around the time of Comic Con that got everyone interested in seeing Deadpool on the big screen.

It’s most likely not around anymore, but let me tell you, when I saw the footage it got me hyped to see Deadpool. It was mainly the test footage that got audiences to get a brief preview of what a Deadpool movie would look like.

Now for the actual movie, I think this movie was awesome. It was everything that I wanted a Deadpool movie to be which had a great mix of action and comedy, with Deadpool giving the breaking the fourth wall humor that he always does in the comics. Ryan Reynolds was outstanding as Deadpool, and for someone who wanted this movie made for years, he pulled off an amazing performance. I also thought Morena Baccarin as Vanessa, the love-interest for Wade Wilson/Deadpool also did an amazing job and playing the role more than just a damsel and actually has a great character to her.

It was also nice to see some X-Men make appearances like Colossus and Negasonic Teenage Warhead, who were more than just cameos and actually contributed to the story and had some great fight scenes in the final fight. They even made a reference on how the studio didn’t have a budget for other X-Men.

I am so glad that this movie was good, because this was in all intense purposes a movie that was made by the fans, and if not for the “leaked” footage, this movie wouldn’t have seen the light of day.

Grade: A

Leave a Reply

