Shadowhunters: Mortal Instruments First Impressions

Shadowhunters is a TV series based off the Mortal Instruments book series by Cassandra Clare. The Shadowhunters series is also based on the 2013 movie Mortal Instruments City of Bones, which flopped at the box office killing any chance for a sequel.

For my thoughts on the actual book series, I only read the first book and currently reading the second book, and will give my views of the books when I get the chance.

For my first impressions on the series is that I actually kinda like it. Judging mainly from the first 3 episodes, while I think the pilot wasn’t all great I think things really pick up on the 3rd episode where we get more of a glimpse into the world of Shadowhunters. I am not going to nitpick changes made from the book because it’s an adaptation changes happen and if I complained about every show that changes from the book I wouldn’t be watching Walking Dead, Dexter and Game of Thrones.

Let’s first start with the characters, Clary (Katherine McNamera). I think her acting got a little better from the pilot and while I didn’t really care for book Clary or even movie Clary hopefully by the end of the series she could change.

Next of the leads is Jace (Dominic Sherwood). This Jace is an improvement from the movie and actuallt put in some personality like he had in the book.

In regards, to the supporting characters I feel they have good performances and are my favorite part of the series.

For the series as a whole I’m going to keep watching till the end of the season. A common complaint is that it doesn’t follow book, therefore it’s bad. For me I am not judging how well it adapts the book but how it stands on its own and on its own its pretty descent. Maybe if it was on CW or Sci Fi Channel I think it would have been better. By the end of the season I will have my final thoughts.

One thought on “Shadowhunters: Mortal Instruments First Impressions

Leave a Reply

