Oscar Best Picture Nominee Reviews: Mad Max Fury Road

With countdown to the Academy Awards, I want to try to review most of the movies nominated for Academy Awards, especially the Best Picture nominees and other films nominated in other categories. So for my first film in the Oscar series I am reviewing Mad Max Fury Road.

Let me first tell you my history with the Mad Max series. It wasn’t until at least my senior year of high school and the first Mad Max movie I saw was actually Beyond Thunderdome which was ironically the third movie. I actually enjoyed it more than most people did and it did introduce me to the mad max movies and I was able to see both Mad Max and The Road Warrior.

Now to Mad Max: Fury Road. What can I say that hasn’t already been said. I think this is one of the best action movies I have seen in a long time, and with George Miller still in the directors chair shows that wisdom comes with age. Also, George Miller had a lot going against him, first of all, he is continuing a movie series that was dead for a while, secondly with how remakes, reboots are concerned there is a lot that end up flopping both with critics and audiences. What Mad Max Fury Road did was give us a Mad Max movie that reintroduces us to the Mad Max universe and delivers.

Now let me introduce you to the characters. Tom Hardy now plays the role of Max in this movie and Charlize Theron plays Imperator Furiosa. What makes this movie great is how both Max and Furiosa learn to work together to accomplish their goal.

Other characters include the “wives” of Immortal Joe. What makes the wives such fascinating characters is that they are actual characters, and each has distinct personalities and not just their to be eye candy for the movie. They also highlight one of the major themes in which they say “we are not things”. They also assist both Max and Furiosa on their journey.

A main criticism people have with the movie is that there is no plot, I however disagree. The plot is a very simple going from A to B and back to A. With George Millers direction, he gives us what we need to know visually without wasting time with pointless exposition. We are able to see how evil Immortan Joe is, what the wives went through, and even Furiosas back story all with visuals.

Also the action. The action in this movie is incredible, seeing actual stunt work, practical effects and being able to see the action without “shaky-cam”. Also the action rarely slows down, the entire movie is basically one long car chase scene  that keeps you entertained and focused.

Now for my Oscar predictions. I think it could win a lot of the tech categories, but I really hope it gets Best Director for George Miller because his vision and direction is what made the movie great.

Grade: A+

Leave a Reply

