Lunar Chronicles Book 3.5: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Summary (via Goodreads):”In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.


Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.”

This book also gives us a look to the relationship between Channary and Levana, Levena and Evret Hayle, and also Levana and her step-daughter Winter.

My thoughts: This is going to be a little controversial. As a fan of the Lunar Chronicles series, I have to say I was little disappointed in this book. Let me first tell you what I liked. I loved that I got to actually see Luna and a little but about the politics of Luna and their relationship with Earth along with why Shells are persecuted.

The problem I have with this book is that I almost felt the book wasn’t needed. Let me clarify, what we already know about Queen Levana was already described throughout the series, it didn’t really give us anything new. With prequel books, especially ones that give us the villain perspective has to give a good backstory. The problem with this back story was that it was almost rushed and mainly focused on a love story. Also in order with prequels from the villain perspective is that we are supposed to a feel sympathetic to the villain, in this book I didn’t feel anything for Levana except that she is still evil. Also it was way too short and felt like a novella instead of an actual book.

I know I was a little hard on this book and if you like it fine. It just wasn’t for me.

Grade: 2.7/5

One thought on “Lunar Chronicles Book 3.5: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

