A Court of Thorns and Roses By: Sarah J. Maas

Summary (Via: Goodreads):

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down


My thoughts:


I was very excited when this book was announced because I am a huge fan of her Throne of Glass series, and I wanted to see what more she can do, and she didn’t disappoint. While still in the high fantasy genre she took us into the world of  the Fae and used it to retell Beauty and the Beast. Feyre, serves as a Belle stand in, and I like Feyre, almost as much as I like Caelena from Throne of Glass. She’s smart, and doesn’t really put up with Tamlin’s crap. Sarah J Mass also does a good job with world building as it is extremely hard to do so especially in the fantasty genre. Another main character is Tamlin, who is the Beast, and when he if first introduced it is almost like when the Beast first showed up in Beauty and The Beast. 


The first half is very devoted to the character development of both Feyre and Tamlin, and them getting to know each other and also fall in love. Mass does a very good job with the believably of them being in love rather then the insta-love which is found in many YA novels. The second half is more action packed with Feyre being forced to go through trials in order to save Tamlin, from the evil Armantha, who is a pretty decent villain, just the down side is that she was killed by the end of the book, and would of mainly wanted her to be the series main villain. 


Also there is a maybe love triangle between Feyre, Tamlin and Rhysand. As a hetero male I would go for Tamlin, mainly because she went through everything for him. Rhysand, I would describe as Eric, from True Blood, Damon from Vampire Diaries with little bit of Loki, and while that may turn girls on, I think Feyre and Tamlin are end game. 


This book was a very good start to what could be great series, which did a fantastic job mixing the romance elements with the fantasy elements


Score: 4.7/5

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s